The  Ashley Rakahuri School curriculum has been redeveloped over the past three years to incorporate our local curriculum within the New Zealand Curriculum statements.  We continue to improve and develop this but are relishing the opportunity to focus on what is relevant to our learners and to deliver a curriculum that is child focussed and learner centred, with a localised lens.


The New Zealand Curriculum specifies eight learning areas:
■ English
■ Mathematics and Statistics
■ Science
■ Social Sciences
■ Arts
■ Health and Physical Education
■ Technology
■ Learning Languages


Ashley Rakahuri School places a priority on the foundation skills of literacy and numeracy. It recognises the place of regular physical activity to aid a child’s development.
We also recognise the importance of children understanding what it means to be a New Zealander.
You can find out more about our Cultural Narrative here